El-Rufai heads APC panel to define restructuring

The National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and the party’s governors, on Wednesday, fixed July 29, 2017, for the party’s ward congresses, marking the beginning of the APC’s national convention.

After a three-hour closed-door meeting between the party’s NWC and the governors elected on the platform of APC.

A committee to define the restructuring process was birthed and headed by Kaduna State Governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, and also the party leadership concluded that principal officers of the National Assembly, who are members of the party, would be part of the NWC/governors’ consultative meeting.

The 10member committee, headed by Kaduna State Governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, includes the governors of Osun State, Rauf Arebegsola;  Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Simon Lalong (Plateau), Ibikunle Amosun, (Ogun),  a former governor of Edo State, Prof. Oserheimen Osunbor; the APC National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso; the National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi; and Hajia Fatima Bala.

Senator Olubunmi Adetumbi will serve as the committee’s secretary.

Attending to journalists after the meeting, APC’s National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, said,

“Some of the key issues we discussed include restructuring, the national convention and the processes leading to the national convention of the party.

“We also decided that this regular meeting with the governors be extended to principal officers of the National Assembly.

“I have repeatedly mentioned it that when we mentioned setting up a committee on restructuring, what we are talking about is a committee that will articulate what the APC meant by restructuring.

“We have realized for some time now that when people talk about restructuring, we are no longer sure if they are talking about the same thing.

“People have said that the APC promised to restructure. So, we need to sit down as a party to develop a shared understanding of what we mean by restructuring in our manifesto.

“This committee that is set up is mainly to define exactly what the APC means by restructuring so that every member will know what exactly we mean. It is not a committee to set up modalities for restructuring.”

“Initiate action to amend our Constitution with a view to devolving powers, duties, and responsibilities to states and local governments in order to entrench true federalism and the federal spirit;

“Restructure government for a leaner, more efficient and adequately compensated public service; require full disclosure in all media outlets of all government contracts of over N100m prior to award and during implementation at regular intervals.”

The Committee chairman, El-Rufai had, in an interview on Channels Television, said, “As I said, a lot of the talks on restructuring are political opportunism and irresponsibility in my opinion. It is popular and people, who have presidential aspiration, think it is a platform which they can exploit.”

Other governors present include Abdul-Aziz Yari (Zamfara); Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi); el-Rufai  (Kaduna); Simon Lalong (Plateau);  Rochas Okorocha (Imo); Badaru Abubakar  (Jigawa); Yahaya Bello ( Kogi); and Abdullahi  Ganduje (Kano).

The deputy governors of Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Nasarawa, Benue, Niger, and Borno represented their governors.

To Top
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com